The Council of Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR) has appointed Mr. Stephen Adebayo as the new Registrar of the Institute after about six years without a substantive registrar.

Mr. Adekunle Salu was the pioneer registrar of NIPR and followed by Ikaz Yakubu, JT Ayo and Dr. Mustapha Mallam.

The new Registrar, whose appointment took effect from October 1, 2007, was the accountant of NIPR for over eleven years, and for the past one year, had handled membership of the Institute, examination and corporate membership. He is a member of the Chartered Institute of Cost Management of Nigeria, Nigerian Institute of Management, and a full member of NIPR.

A graduate of Kwara State Polytechnic Ilorin and holder of Master in Business Administration (MBA), Mr. Adebayo, emerged successful from the list of six applicants for the post.

He takes over from Mrs. Adedayo Buluro, who had acted as registrar since Dr. Mustapha Mallam, the last registrar, resigned during the tenure of Bobo Sofiri Brown as the President of NIPR. Mrs. Buluro is presently the Head Corporate and Membership Service of the Institute.

According to a report, the panel of interviewers that brought in the new registrar include: Alhaji Yakubu Akor, Goddy Nnadi, Chief Banji Alphonso (all Fellows of the Institute), and Ben Ahiante who is the chairman of the NIPR secretariat restructure committee.

Other applicants interviewed for the job include: Mr. Kunle Oshodi-Glover, William Ogbidi, Terverr-Tereneez Tyav, amongst others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here