In line with its annual tradition of honouring and showcasing doyens in the media and marketing industry, the National Institute of Marketing of Nigeria (NIMN) recently hosted corporate Nigeria to the 2011 edition of Night of the Titans at Golden Tulip Hotel, Lagos.

Addressing marketing professionals during the event, the President and Chairman of Council, NIMN, Chief Lugard Aimiuwu, said the conceptualization of the Night of Titans was informed by the need to celebrate people who have contributed enormously to the growth and development of the marketing and media practice in Nigeria.

Chief Michael Ade-Ojo, Chairman, Toyota Nigeria and Chairman, Elizade Group of companies; Chief (Dr.) Raymond Dokpesi, Executive Chairman, DAAR Communications Plc; Sir Steve Omojafor, Chairman STB McCann; and Late Alex Ibru, Publisher, The Guardian Newspapers Limited were decorated as the 2011 Titans in recognition of their remarkable input in the development of the media and marketing industries.

Lady Neta Nwosu (LSM), Assistant General Manager, Corporate Services, The Sun Publishing Ltd and Chairperson, Brands Journalists’ association of Nigeria (BJAN) clinched double awards including the Star Media award. She emerged the Brand Reporter of the Year and was also presented the Marketing Achievement Award. Subsequent to the presentation of the award to her by NIMN Vice President, Mr. Ganiyu Koledoye, Chief Aimiuwu said that Lady Nwosu has not only distinguished herself as a specialist in the field of brands cum marketing communications journalism but has also become a household name with an enviable track record of quality contributions to the growth of the marketing industry. Last year the BJAN President was honoured with an award titled ‘Most Valuable Personality (Marketing Reporting), Print Media’.

Other recipients of the Marketing Achievement Awards include Mr. Lolu Akinwunmi, Chairman, Advertising Practitioners’ Council of Nigeria (APCON) and Chief Executive Officer, Prima Garnet; Mr. Rufai Ladipo, President, Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN) and Managing Director, STB McCann; Dr. Phil Osagie, President, Public Relations Consultants of Nigeria (PRCAN) and Head Consultant, JSP; Mr. Kola Oyeyemi, President, Advertisers’ Association of Nigeria (ADVAN) and General Manager, Consumer Marketing, MTN; Mr. Charles Chijide, President, Outdoor Advertising Association of Nigeria (OAAN); Mr. Tolu Ogunkoya, President, Media Independents’ Association of Nigeria and Managing Director, MediaReach and Mr. Mohammed Abdullahi, President, Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR).

Mr. Yinka Akande, Director-General, Manufacturers Association of Nigeria; Aare Fatai Odesile, Marketing Director, Grand Oaks Ltd; and Mrs. Yomi Ifaturoti, Corporate Affairs Director PZ Cussons Plc were amongst the 15 top marketing professionals also honoured as Achievers.

Other Awardees in the marketing reporting include Mr. Jewell Dafinone, Deputy Editor, The Guardian Daily Newspapers; Mr. Akin Adewakun, Tribune Newspapers; Mr. Raheem Akingbolu, ThisDay Newspapers; Mrs. Nkiru Nwokedi, AIT; Miss Adaku Okeke (FRCN) and a host of others. Marketing Edge Magazine published by a veteran marketing communications journalist, Mr. John Ajayi won the Marketing Magazine of the Year award. Aimiuwu was optimistic that the awards would ginger the awardees to be unrelenting in their bid to further achieve excellence in their various endeavours.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here